Longbarrow Press

Longbarrow Press publishes poems by Angelina Ayers, James Caruth, Matthew Clegg, Kelvin Corcoran, Mark Goodwin, Lee Harwood, Rob Hindle, Andrew Hirst, Chris Jones, Fay Musselwhite, Alistair Noon and Peter Riley. Titles range across various formats, including pamphlets, boxes and CDs; many are designed and produced by hand, some in limited editions.

The press was founded by Andrew Hirst and Brian Lewis in 2005, and was launched in Sheffield in April 2006 (with the publication of Hirst and Lewis’s The Frome Sampler and Matthew Clegg’s Nobody Sonnets). Hirst stepped down later that year, leaving Lewis as sole publisher/editor. The ethos governing the output of the press is that the poem should dictate the format of publication. The resulting objects – matchboxes, acetates, maps – allow poet and publisher to explore alternatives to the book without resorting to gimmickry. See the In Conversation Archive for an in-depth discussion of these ideas and practices. A detailed history of Longbarrow Press publications, events and related activities appears here.